Materials to use on glowforge

Quick question to everyone out there. We just received our Glowforge at school yesterday and we are wondering what non “Glowforge” materials everyone has used? We have plexi glass squares already cut and are wondering if anyone has used their own acrylic plexi or not? Also if anyone has used their own 1/8 plywood and what what type of wood is best? Newbie here trying to get my class up and running with this amazing machine. Thanks in advance!

Various acrylics and woods. Aluminum. Cork. The other day I cut Velcro (although I’m pretty confident it released toxic fumes. But it was only for a couple of seconds, so I took the risk and it worked great.).

Yep. Smelled even worse (WAY worse, actually) than :proofgrade: acrylic.

I’ve used a bunch different thicknesses and brands.

“Best” can’t really be answered by anybody but you. So many woods, so many projects, so many different tastes. Try them all! :slight_smile:

6 Likes

There are so many links about this in the forum, search around, you don’t need to wait for someone to reply to this.

Basically, we’ve engraved everything from rice grains (@jules) to rat skulls (@evansd2), cut everything we can think of that isn’t nailed down or poisonous, and glued/slotted/nailed/magnetted/screwed/inlaid it all together. We’re collectively posting new and different ideas every day, what you’re asking is so broad that you won’t believe it when you start digging through the forum.

6 Likes

This is a list of banned materials at the Twin City maker space, it also gives reason why not to use it. Will be following this with my own. No need to replace the operator right away.

15 Likes