Metric vs Imperial

Continuing the discussion from Discussion of March 2018 Update:

Really? Just for that? A lot of us here in the states actually think in metric, for various reasons (mine is that I work in health care, and we’re primarily metric), but it wouldn’t have occurred to me to see that as a barrier to buying a GF. It’s not that big a deal to do conversions. I flip back and forth from mm to inches all the time in Inkscape, since I like to design in mm but have it set to default inches for the GF stuff. My micrometer flips back and forth just as easily.

If you’re an American company expecting most of your sales to be in the US, where construction tools, fasteners, lumber and other materials are measured and sold using the Imperial system, it wouldn’t make sense to set your system up to use metric. It needs to be compatible with the things it’s used with.

If I buy a product from EU I expect it to be metric, so it seems to me that if you buy an American product, it shouldn’t be a surprise that it uses American measurements.

Think of it as exercise for your brain. As I tell my patients, “the more you have to lose, the longer it takes to lose it.” Doing calculations for your GF projects will help you stave off dementia. :wink:

10 Likes

Oh man…I knew I was doing it wrong. :smile:

(Excellent points to live by. And I do the metric-imperial shuffle on a daily basis as well. I cook and drive in imperial, design in metric, don’t bother to convert it, and the GFUI handles it just fine, and perfectly accurately. The only thing that requires inches is the thickness measurement for non-PG materials, and a measuring device takes care of that.)

3 Likes