More belt holes / quarantine pounds / Health kick

Quarantine started off as a “the world is on fire” in our household with stocking up on toilet paper, bulk potato chips, and just about anything that was processed and could weather the storm.

Then, because it was around, we made it through our continually repeating Costco disaster supply of junk food.

At the end of June I was feeling it.

So I did something that I’ve never done before, I eliminated salt from my diet, and as I spent my entire life eating mainly meat and cheese, I cut that out also, and then cut out dairy and eggs and processed food.

So basically I’ve stopped eating everything that I actually enjoy…

And 20 weeks ago I started running every single morning, initially 0.8 miles, now up to 1.5 miles, which is kind of big for my life of inactivity.

So now I am down 25 pounds, and ran into another problem… my belt, which is a saddleback leather belt, and it ran out of holes.

I know there are many skilled leather workers here, but that’s not me, so I made some new holes, and it looks like the belt came this way. I’m really happy with the outcome.

Oh and I am feeling better also.

I spent so long not thinking about anything health related, living every day in my bubble of convenient reality.

32 Likes

Congrats - based on what’s going on in my house, my assumption was holes the other direction!

14 Likes

It was that way here! :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Congrats! That’s quite an achievement! :grinning:

6 Likes

Mahalo @Jules! Had to just make a decision and hit a tipping point. And need motivation to keep it going… :slight_smile:

5 Likes