More Scrimshaw

ok… im not your average joe… i have weird hobbies, but as a traditional artist, i always want to figure out how to use new tools. I carve ostrich egg shells with a dental drill, but cant fit them under the laser. and ive done a lot of traditional scrimshaw… and had seen some postings in here of scrimshaw attempts.

messing around with a LOT of slate, and playing with depths to cut into draftboard and maple, i figured i could experiment with bone. i started with camelbone… cut and drilled (traditionally) to the size/shape of a grip for a smaller 1911. holy crap. after what i thought was horrendous burning/scorching over the surface, it “scrubbed off” (with a lot of elbow grease) to be something with a LOT of promise… it saves more than 95% of the carving process if i had to do this by hand!

52 Likes

and just a quick ink wash… and i’m all… “wow!”

now just gotta go back in with traditional tools and clean up, dig a little deeper, sand the tops and bottoms to accept a solid black coating… and i’d call it done!

… edit:
ok… im horribly impatient and just did a quick ink again to see what it might look like… now i gotta figure out what to put on the other grip!

53 Likes

This came out just gorgeous! Glad you persisted and got some great results. Is there a reason you can’t use masking?

3 Likes

Gorgeous is the word all right! (That’s making me want to try engraving on bone next.)
Beautiful job! :grinning:

5 Likes

masking as in an etching resist (like wax?) or masking like the adhesive paper to prevent flashback?

your stuff’s always awesome!

1 Like

Very nice!

4 Likes

I meant:

gotcha… well… i didnt use it because i wasnt going for a photographic representation that would be ruined by flashback/soot, but instead for more of a “3D engrave” - trying to “dig” as much into the material as i could to give depth and a place for the india ink to “stick”

4 Likes