My First Design! (It's little, but it makes me smile)

I’ve been stalking the forum ever since I placed my order, but this is my first post! Received my GF Basic today and I’m so excited! Made the Gift of Good Measure obviously. I then took to the forums to find a free design to try something else and made the cute, simple Art/Book stand shared by @Janerlea!

I was really itching to create something all my own but I have no design experience. I downloaded Adobe Illustrator, watched a couple of tutorials, and made a teensy wall sign featuring my most common expression of endearment for my boyfriend besides “I love you”.

The two holes in the “Y’s” will be used to hang it on the wall with a bit of string. It came out VERY dainty. It’s under 2 inches tall including the apostrophe, and less than 4 inches wide. Peeling the paper off was very stressful, I was certain I was going to break it!

I know I have a lot more to learn, but designing and creating something of my own with zero experience just a few hours after unboxing is incredibly gratifying!

EDIT THE FOLLOWING MORNING:

Put a couple of finishing touches and decided to add the photo.

It was made on draftboard, and I decided to just color it a solid color using a Crayola Brush Marker. The string is just some waxed thread I had laying around from my early attempts at leather working (which were not impressive and one of the main reasons I wanted a GF!).

29 Likes