Need help with Acrylic Backlit Sign with dark colors

Hello,

This is my first time asking a question in this forum and I would like to see if I can get a little help with it. I am making a backlit acrylic sign using the Johnson Plastics LHT808 Lighted Base for a birthday gift and I would like some advice on how to get this rather dark image engraved for this sign to work out properly. Here is the image:

I do have the vector file so I can manipulate it a little bit but I am new to Adobe Illustrator and no graphic design experience. Please help as this needs to get shipped to Los Angeles by Friday. Thanks

Problems and Support is for opening tickets with Glowforge support for machine or interface issues. I’ve moved this to an appropriate forum.

Thank you, I didn’t know where to post.

1 Like

In my opinion, your best bet would be to create a line drawing from the original. For example, shoot for something like this:

2 Likes

I wouldn’t even know where to start with the amount of time I have and skill level. Any suggestions?

Use black acrylic and engrave or score the lines. Take the blue translucent material and score the clouds and glue cut purple mountains on the blue background (the blue background would have the spot that would insert into the base to glow). Glue the black acrylic to the mountains and blue background. At least for me that would be the fastest way. That is a short deadline.

Without seeing the source file, and not using AI, not sure I can offer much advice.

In Inkscape, it would be something like removing fill, changing stroke width, converting strokes to paths, and cleaning it up to produce a recognizable line drawing.

That image is a very poor candidate for engraving.

I’ve never tried backlighting black acrylic… does that work?