New and would love some tile photo help PLEASE

I am brand new to laser cutting and have only had my machine just under a month. My step mom asked me if I could make something for a dear friend of hers who just lost her mom to cancer (my step mom is a breast cancer survivor). She shared this photo with me and it was suggested in a FB group to try tile. I got that last night and know I’m doing something wrong because its basically a blob lol. I know it’s all about the color settings but is there also a specific file type to save it as? I know I can cut tile with great results using an svg graphic file.
The photo is already black and white so I don’t know if that’s thrown off already? Would love any guidance. I want to make this possible and a learning experience…I have the Pro if that makes any difference…
I truly appreciate any help or guidance possible! I think this is a surprise so I can check but don’t believe she has access to any other photos imagejpeg_0(1)|666x500

1 Like

OK so first of all, nice picture, and that’s great news about your step mom.

The basic gist is that you need to try to get better contrast on the image, and that greys are really hard to convey on tile since your’e generally either engraving the surface away or not.

What settings are you using?

Here’s some info about how to prepare photos for engraving:

https://community.glowforge.com/search?q=prepare%20photo%20engrave

It’s a deep topic. I’ll drop a version of how I’d do it in a second.

1 Like

OK so this is the original:

and this is the end result:

What I did was to make the contrast much more extreme and shift the black and white points to make sure we go from full black to full white. It’s a quick process, I go into GIMP and edit the value curve: