Newbie trying to engrave with leather

Hi guys! I’m a newbie to the Glowforge community and happy to be a part of it! :slight_smile:
I have looked for the answer on the forum so I apologize if I overlooked it. I am trying to engrave font onto leather and cannot seem to get good crisp lines. I have tried multiple different settings but I don’t understand what needs to be changed to have this look right. Any help would be GREATLY appreciate!! I attached a photo of what it is coming out looking like.
Thank you!!

CURRENT SETTINGS:
SD graphic
Speed:1000
Power:71
Grascale: Vary Power
Maximum quality
270 lines per inch

5 Likes

Are you using masking? If so I’d recommend trying it without. Fine details can get lost.

Also is this vector or raster (like a png/gif/jpeg)?

If it’s raster it might be in the art.

1 Like

Thank you for your response! I do not have any masking on it but it is a png file.

1 Like

Could it be that the original is not of a high enough quality or that the leather is not uniformly flat against the honeycomb tray? Parts of the engrave look good, and that makes me think that the settings are close and something else is the issue.

1 Like

Yeah if you can upload the original art we will probably have better suggestions.

1 Like

Unless you know your original artwork is black and white (no actual grayscale), enabling grayscale will cause power to vary as a function of darkness and that may explain the lighter areas in your engrave.

Your speed is way too high. Slow it down by half, reduce power by 2/3rds. Turn off Grayscale/vary power. Increase LPI.

Alternately, there is a proofgrade leather setting. Even if you’re not using proofgrade leather, those settings will be a strong starting point. Use that instead of your own settings, and choose HD not SD.

You’ll see that HD runs much slower at lower power and higher LPI than SD. HD produces better results, at the cost of increased print time.

4 Likes