Old Dogs and New Tricks... or I just can't figure out this new-fangeled software!

I’m an engineer. As such I am no stranger to CAD software. Also, whenever I interview one of my strong points is that I can learn just about any piece of software quickly… but I’m finding that to be less and less true as time goes on.

I started CAD using Bentley Microstation in school. As soon as I graduated I transitioned to AutoCAD and never looked back. I am strictly 2D, but when I got my 3D printer a couple years ago I started learning 3D design. I did ok at it. I am finding myself less successful when it comes to designing 3D objects for 2D printing however… so I thought I would try out some other pieces of software.

I decided to focus on OnShape. It seems like a relatively easy piece of software, and based on the demos and such it looks like everything is pretty much automatic. However, I’m having a hard time reconciling the “sketch” vs “shape”. I get that I need to draw a rectangle sketch and then extrude it to a shape. But I can’t figure out the interaction between sketches and existing shapes. Example, I have a shell (roughly a 3"x3"x4" box with 1/8" thick walls). I want to split that shell into two pieces, a lid and base to make a box. I don’t want a straight-line however, I want an angled edge to my box. Here’s the part in Onshape:

And here’s the part with the cutting plane that I would like drawn in…

(I drew this in BlueBeam).

I can’t figure out how to do this in Onshape for the life of me. Heck, I can’t even figure out how to snap the sketch for the cutting plane to the existing object. It is very frustrating. I suppose perseverance and devouring any and all videos that I can find are probably the key. I am relatively certain that, as limited as my 3D AutoCAD skills are, I could probably whip this out pretty quickly.