Overall item thickness almost 2" but engraving area is in the middle which is .5" inch from top. Any special settings I should try?

So I have this assembled product that I wish to engrave. The maximum width is almost at the 2" limit but that is just the edges. The engraving has to happen at a point that is 1/2" lower from the laser than the thickest part of the build.

Also, I’m an absolute noob. I’ve been lurking in the forums since I purchased my Glowforge and finally got it today and set it up. Haven’t fired it up yet because I’m having difficulty making the exhaust hose stay on so I’m heading to the hardware store to get some additional ductwork adaptors and such.

So please take that into account when giving me advice. I’m still learning.
Thank you.

1 Like

You’ll need to take the crumb tray out to do this one - so I really don’t suggest you do this first. At a minimum go through the First Prints tutorial

The likelihood that this will not turn out as expected is high - so if you really really love this assembled product, and you cannot disassemble it, I’m going to suggest you maybe cut the design out of masking and use the masking to spray paint it onto the assembled object or other transfer methods.

That being said it’s doable. You’ll want to take out the crumb tray, and then raise your item back up until the 2" part is just beneath the fan behind the laser head (if you measure it by the laser head the fan will hit it when it starts up). Then use Set Focus to choose the spot where you want to place your design, then place your design and go. There is a chance that you’ll have to do a slightly defocused engrave because the 1/2" will fall outside of the focus range. If you get an error, come back here and let us know what it is and there are ways around even that.

4 Likes