Pentominoes

Does anyone have a pentominoes free design for a 6 x 10 puzzle?

Get your google-fu mojo going, and search for “pentominoes inurl:svg” and you’ll find a lot.

Here’s probably exactly what you need.

You can make any puzzle you want out of those.

6 Likes

I even went the extra mile and searched google for “pentominoes 6x10”, and this little gem popped up.

https://benhoyt.com/writings/python-pentomino/

Which yields:

So now you just need to use that original svg of the shapes, grab as many copies as you need of the various shapes, and voila.

Edit – Oh, and:
https://www.cs.brandeis.edu/~storer/JimPuzzles/ZPAGES/zzzPentominoes.html

Several 6x10 solutions.

7 Likes

Oh and here’s a whole puzzle in svg format:

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/0/09/Pentomino_Puzzle_Solutions.svg

Be careful of double paths, I haven’t opened the svg in inkscape to see but I suspect.

6 Likes

thank you. I am new at this so just trying to learn what I am doing. I am still having trouble even though its saved a a svg it still says I can only engrave because its a bit map. I will keep working on it.

1 Like

OK, you caught me when I was idle and curious, so here you go:

PENT_FIX

What I did:

Start with original svg from wiki.

Isolate the 6x10.

Draw a rectangle around the whole thing.

set that rectangle aside.

Select all the shapes. Use arrange function to make a grid, separating the objects.

Look carefully at the shapes, they are all clones of an object in a hidden <def>, which is new to me. I unlinked all the clones so I could edit them.

Alter all exterior paths to be blue. Remove all fills.

Scale entire thing up to be a reasonable size (4" wide was my choice).

Make a new rectangle that is .5" taller and .5" wider than the pocket. Align that around the original “hole” and use that to make a frame. Color code the paths as appropriate.

And scene.

14 Likes

Wow Thanks!

1 Like

No problem.