Pinhole material

Hey

I’m a photographer with an interest in DIY and photographic processes from the previous centuries.

I partly bought the glowforge to do DIY camera projects. More than one of those involve pinholes. So, now I’m seeking advice on what kind of material that I can use that are both as thin as possible, light-proof, and laser cuttable.

Also, what kind of setting- and what kind of document would I upload to the glowforge to make holes of different sizes? How small can I go? Pinholes typically are in the range of 0.1mm - 1mm

Thanks!

1 Like

Mylar.

Lots of folks use it for creating masking for other projects like body painting or t-shirt stuff. Their posts will have tips & tricks & settings that should work for you. Just do a quick search on mylar and settle in for some rabbit hole reading :slightly_smiling_face:

5 Likes

A wood or black opaque acrylic, lined with black felt would give you a light proof box. not sure where to go from there, thin black felt would be the least reflective, of any other material while Mylar and acrylic are at least some level of reflective even with a matte surface,

TBH you could probably just blast a pinhole through your lens cap - which is very easy :slight_smile:

I know this is normally done with foil, I wonder if you could punch a hole in foil with a GF?

Mylar would be another bet. You could even use paper.

How about paper soaked in water proofer to keep the damp out.

It kind of doesn’t matter if it’s not durable - you’ve got a laser and can make another :slight_smile:

1 Like

Nope - at least not easily. Tinfoil is one of the things you can use if you need to rerun a section of design - you lay it over the part you want to protect!

4 Likes