Png to svg conversion frustrations

Okay, so, I want to make a box for my mom in laws birthday. She’s the good kind of in law. I love her. I do art for a living and I have this one piece that she adores, decided that would be fun to put on a box.

Went to boxes py to get myself a rough box template which I edited to suit my needs (easier kid for mom to open). Now, I don’t have a computer. I do all my work from my iPad these days. So far I have been successfully converting pngs to svgs online and then working with them in Vectornator (I downloaded it the day it was free, yay me!).

When I download the svg from boxes py it won’t for the life of it open in vectornator. It opens in the glowforge app but not my actual editor… frustrations. So I opened it in my art program (MediBang, it’s pngs). Made my edits and then told myself I’ll just convert it back to an svg and go from there.

Nutshell: my blue lines go chunky when I convert and I’m afraid of manually redrawing them and making them inaccurate.

The whole tree: Problem. Every time I convert it the cut lines, the lines from boxes py, get all chunky and weird and I imagine if I cut them like this I’m just going to be wasting material.

Help?

Below is my png. Blue lines are gonna be cut. Black are going to be dark engrave. Red medium engrave. Second thing is my svg after conversion, I do think I could “remake” the lines/paths or whatever they’re called in vectornator but I’m worried they won’t be as accurate or line up as well as I’m still learning this software.

Svg%20Image-9

2 Likes

If your SVGs from boxes.py load ok in the GFUI, could you just import the art PNG in the add art button once you have the SVGs for cutting loaded?

You can position them accurately inside the box vectors. The design to design accuracy is just fine in the interface. It is just the whole design space can be off just a bit with placing on materials. Should be ok with a 1/4" margin at least.

6 Likes