Program for Glowforge

So what does everybody use for your designs/projects? Illustrator? I will Be working with a lot of letting and things such as cake toppers/wall are/signs but not sure what system to use for these things to create them? Any suggestions? I havent Gotten my glowforge yet, so I’m very new at this lol.

1 Like

Illustrator and Inkscape are the primary preferred applications, along with Affinity Designer. Inkscape is free but has a daunting interface. Affinity Designer has an inviting interface but its SVG files need a bit of tweaking for the Glowforge. And Illustrator is a long-time favorite for many designers.

I use Inkscape. Starting from zero knowledge last spring, I’ve struggled with it, but at this point I really love working with it.

7 Likes

Don’t forget CorelDraw :blush:

Some also use Fusion 360 but that is more daunting than Inkscape.

4 Likes

What everyone else said.

I use Illustrator and Fusion 360 primarily. I have used Inkscape a couple of times, Affinity Designer and GIMP as well.

3 Likes

Thank you so much!!! This was very helpful! I want To go ahead and get used to the system I plan To use before my glowforge gets here so I can hit the ground running with it. So thank you!!

4 Likes

Just curious…what do you mean by this? I use AD and have found SVG files pretty straightforward. Or maybe I’ve been doing it for so long that I’ve forgotten any problems. :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

I haven’t had to tweak anything since I figured out I needed to set AD to export at 96 DPI.

2 Likes

I was using 96 until I had an issue trying Snapmarks for the first time. Something about the snap mark file being at 72dpi. Anyway, I changed my go-to new files setting to be at 72. I didn’t like having to change my tried and true settings, so maybe I’ll set it back to 96, :wink:

2 Likes