Public Input Process-Create Your Own Design

Forewarning: this project requires a bit of background to make sense-sorry for the longer read! :grin:

I’m a landscape architect, which is tough to explain to people, but basically I do the planning and design work for a lot of outdoor recreation and environmental restoration projects, and I get into some pretty neat projects. Most of these projects are for public clients (cities, state and federal agencies, etc.) and so many of them include a public input/facilitation aspect.

I have a current project in Glenwood Springs, Colorado that focuses on a recreation area at the confluence of 2 rivers (3 Mile Creek and the Roaring Fork River). Traditionally, we would come up with design options A, B, and C for the whole site, then ask folks at a public meeting what they like and dislike about each option. This usually works alright, but some people always assume we are asking them to pick one of the overall options, rather than create a combination of the features within all of the options.

On this site, we (the design team) had a set of ‘base improvements’ that we knew needed to happen no matter what. In addition to that, we had a number of areas where we felt the public should be able to choose from a range of improvements. Overall, the community wants to protect the environmental qualities of the site while accommodating the inevitable increased use of the site, so this concept made a lot of sense.