Raster and Vector Workflow Question

Hello,

I am still a bit new to the GF workflow. Let’s say I want to cut out a square after I have done a 3D engrave of something in the middle, but I want it to be really precisely in the middle, what’s the best way to do this?

For example, Canva is my go to application for raster type design creation, so I can do that and create a PNG or something to upload to the UI and set it to 3D engrave - easy enough. Likewise, I can use vectr.com, AI or Illustrator for the raster and set that to be cut.

HOWEVER, when I do the above steps, I am manually and visually aligning the two uploaded files with my eyes in the GF UI since they are separate files I have uploaded and moved around manually. Is there a reasonable way of doing both raster and vector in one program where I can do typical page-layout style alignment within that one program and export then only ONE file to the GF? I would think I would come into problems with how to assign “colors” in that program so that the GF would tease it out if one thing is raster/3D engrave and one is vector/cut.

Thanks and hopefully I’m missing something easy here that people do!

Embed your raster into an SVG file along with the vector data. It will all come in aligned properly, etc.

4 Likes

Wow, I feel like a dummy for not trying this first! I did this in AI, Inkscape and Vectr and indeed they do all seem to work well. So thank you.

Perhaps this is the start of a new post or shouldn’t be discussed here, but any other good apps do this type of raster/vector combo and play well with GF other than AI, Inkscape and Vectr? Ideally a free one? :slight_smile:

Thanks!

1 Like

Inkscape and gimp are my go to softwares. Both free. Gimp for serious photo editing, inkscape for design and svg work.

3 Likes

Yup, that is my go-to as well. And If I have a 3D Obj I kick it to Blender (also free and very powerful) and do a Black to White “Blend” texture that will produce a nice vary power engraving.