Rhino3D to Fusion360

OK, I am trying to make the switch to Fusion, I have used Rhino daily for about the past 10 years or so, But I keep seeing all these amazing things you can do with Fusion.
Any suggestions on making the switch less painful?
I have gone thru several of the basic tutorials but the whole parametric thing is throwing me. Something that would take me 10 min in rhino is taking me over an hour:-(
thanks!

4 Likes

There are a couple of good series…

14 Likes

There are probably a bunch of people here who will offer to help with specific problems you run into. I feel like I’ve passed the beginner stage and can figure most things out, but I have no experience with other similar programs, so in a way I’ve grown up with F360 and don’t know what I’m missing.

1 Like

I didn’t see this thread until now…

I’m also a long-time Rhino user. I’ve dabbled in Fusion 360. Currently I use SolidWorks mostly.

Fusion 360 is good software. Given the price, it’s downright amazing. It is also… um… how to put this? It’s quirky. And also incomplete, unfortunately.

One of the several projects I’m (quarter-heartedly) working on is an intake manifold flange for an engine. I’ve made one before, for a different engine, and this new one is much less complicated - it’s a 2.5D part, 6 circular holes, a wavy-ish perimeter, five bolt holes. Not exactly rocket surgery.

When I sat down to start drawing the part I decided that it would be a good candidate to make start-to-finish in Fusion. I probably spent an hour and a half messing with it. I think I got the model reasonably complete, but it required several workarounds to do things that would be easy in SolidWorks and Rhino.

For instance, I don’t believe it lets you dimension from the edge of a circle, you can only dimension from the center (AFIK). A little math will let you work around that limitation, but it’s not convenient.