Rookie looking for help

Hey, all I am very new to the GF community as my wife just bought us one for Christmas. I have almost zero background in editing but I am learning using Inkscape and Adobe Illustrator. I have a photo that I want to carve out but my raw skills are driving me insane. Can anyone help me understand what I need to do to edit this photo to be used on the GF.

4979071E-0F3F-4F5D-B2FC-0361F81832FF_4_5005_c

That would depend exactly what you want to do with that image. Cut out, engrave, 3d engrave, score?

ekla,

Ideally I would like to 3d print, replicate this if possible. I am still learning all the possibilities this machine can perform

I think you mean 3d Engrave? For that you’ll need to convert it to grayscale in a raster based photo editor and I’m afraid Inkscape and Illustrator are vector based. You’ll need to use something like Gimp, Affinity Photo or Photoshop.

Convert it to grayscale, adjust levels and curves, erase the background so it’s entirely white.
GF 3d engrave interprets pure white as zero power (no engrave at all) and pure black as max power (deepest engrave) and the shades in between accordingly. So essentially you want your high spots white, low spots black and gentle or sharp gradients in between depending on the effect you want to get.

3 Likes

That is helpful to know. I am currently trying to cut it after I used the scan feature. I placed a print in the GF and that seemed to work but the shading the GF produced seems off. Is there away to clean that up when you use the scan feature.

1 Like

Honestly I never use the scan feature but I’ve heard you can adjust the scan results with keyboard shortcuts.

1 Like

Awesome thank you for all the advice. I appreciate your time and help learning my new machine

1 Like