SCAD Lasercut library

Came across this library trying to learn how to use OpenSCAD:

Any tips for a complete newbie would be greatly appreciated! Hard to wrap my brain around that stuff.

13 Likes

I think @palmercr is the OpenSCAD expert here. :relaxed:

3 Likes

Wow. The author of the library goes from 0-75 pretty much instantly. And he’s missing some bits that would simplify design a lot. But it looks like a pretty good set of connecting methods if you already know openscad. I might use it or see if I can bodge it to meet my needs.

Basically, what you do is specify a flat sheet of whatever dimensions and then place various joining cutouts/tabs on or near the edges (also using text). Plus scripts for things like making boxes, which are basically just a bunch of flat pieces whose dimensions and cutouts are determined once you give the overall box dimensions.

Ironically, given that openscad is a 3D program and you need to make things 2D to export for cutting, the library doesn’t (yet) seem to be so good at helping visualize the assembly process. That could be fixed, though (there are other openscad libraries that let you say essentially “this edge of this piece is connected to that edge of that piece, now rotate them 90 degrees with respect to each other” and get two piece fixed together with a right angle between them, without a lot of numbers.)

1 Like

Yeah, I’m having trouble using the library that’s supposed to make life easier. I don’t already know OpenSCAD. I got this far:

So I don’t feel too bad. I can’t get it to lay things out flat automatically, though. I don’t exactly know what I’m doing.

Edit: and it looks as though something with OpenSCAD or something with trying to get the library to lay things out flat has deleted all of that work.

2 Likes

can you post your file? (Or is that what’s gone?). What you have looks pretty good as a start.