Screech Owl House

With production machines actually being delivered, I figured it might be time for me to learn a little Fusion 360. I won’t say how long this took me to put together starting as a complete and total newb but I certainly learned a lot and am very confident going forward that it will be much quicker and easier.

This is a Screech Owl nesting box that I revised slightly from the free Cornell Labs of Ornithology plans.

Regarding the design:
I tried to just learn parametric from the get-go, so I assigned multiple variables such as heights, width, depth, material thickness (3/8"). This is SO the way to go!

The top can be jointed a couple of different ways to keep it being able to open partially. It can be pinned through the side or small hinges could be attached to the back.

The slightly taller front is designed as an air-gap between the lid and the main box to allow circulation

Is it an OK practice to “drill” holes with the laser? I added a couple just to see how it was done. It’s so super easy in Fusion 360 to add a hole and just make it “Thickness*2” and have a hole appear in both pieces to be joined.

I didn’t include any mounting solutions - this could be done a number of different ways but I think one of the easiest is to pick up something like a commercial french cleat like this: https://www.amazon.com/Eagle-EAM-375-Z-Clips-10-Pack/dp/B005UXIXWY/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1496599517&sr=8-5&keywords=french+cleat

Or just make your own French cleat with more standard tools than the laser.

It was a slight bugger to get the files out of Fusion 360 and then into Illustrator. I ended up using the DXF for Laser plugin; it makes it very simple to just select a face, export to DXF and then select the next face and repeat the operation and then create an Illustrator file with the correct number and size of artboards to represent the cut pieces and material stock.
(DXF for Laser | Fusion 360 | Autodesk App Store)

ScreechOwlHouse.zip (2.3 KB)

48 Likes