Smokey Hill Design 1/8 Maple Settings

Does anyone know the settings for 1/8" Maple bought from Smokey Hill Design? I’m a newbie here.

Thank you

2 Likes

Hey welcome!

Turns out there’s a good way to test almost any material. Check it out, #6:

5 Likes

Most of their stuff cuts fine for me on Proofgrade setting for equivalent products - medium maple plywood

2 Likes

One of the bonuses of Smokey Hill is they put suggested settings on the site:

In this case, PG medium walnut plywood is the recommendation

Also, as long as you’re not cutting at full power, there is no difference between the laser power between the three :glowforge: models.

6 Likes

Try using the settings GF has for their 1/8 maple. Do a test cut with a rectangle or a circle shape…

Everyone’s settings for non-PROOFGRADE materials will be different.

Glowforge users have to learn to LOVE experimenting with non_PROOFGRADE materials.

Digital calipers are an absolute must. Yesterday I spent 3 LONG HOURS – trying to get the correct settings for new material.

So I did that test and it almost gets through, I have to push it through, how can I adjust that so it pops it out like it does with Proofgrade? I assume that’s the cutting setting?

Thanks!

I would lower the speed. There is a huge difference in speed between maple hardwood and maple plywood. if you chose maple plywood-- I would lower the speed to 160.

If you truly want to get the best results from your Glowforge it is absolutely essential you read the entire manual.

The team at corporate Glowforge did a phenomenal job putting the manual together.

I am going to be very candid and this is not intended to upset you. I want to help you.

If you do not enjoy reading, researching, and experimenting, it would be best for you to sell your Glowforge.

There will be many times after you have researched the forums or watched YouTube videos you still do not have the answer to your question. At this point you come here to ask a question.