Spots in Slate Engrave

Hello helpful folks!

I am fairly new at this whole Glowforge thing, and looking for some feedback on lasering slate. When I etch wider areas of slate, I’m getting spots on the heated areas, as seen in the sky on the attached picture, and I’m not sure why. I have settings at 950/30/340. Has anyone else run into this and determined the cause / found a solution? All help is greatly appreciated!

Evan

3 Likes

I forgot to mention, I did use a light coat of mineral oil, however it has been dry for about a week now.

1 Like

Slate is very fine-grained, and usually pretty homoginious. More likely I think the mineral oil being ‘re-absorbed’ into the engraving from beneath. You might try oiling after the engraving (I’m assuming you treated it with the oil first).

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply! That certainly makes sense. I will have to play with it and find the right solution for what I’m looking for. I will give oiling post laser a shot, and also see if i can make due with a lighter oil pre laser. I just want to try to keep the contrast as high as possible, as the oil on lasered slate will darken. Fingers crossed!

3 Likes

Nice job on converting the photo to etching! Looks great!
Hope the oiling post etching helps even the sky out–but slate is natural, and can vary with any given piece pending how it was formed, but indeed a lot more homogenous than granite, certainly, but the stippling/spotting may just be a “feature” of the amazing process & ability we have to etch on natural slate!

1 Like

Can you upload the photo you used? It might be imperfections in the photo, There are tricks that you can use to find out.

1 Like

Thank you! Photoshop helped. Yes, I think it may be a combination of excess oil as PrintToLaser suggested, and “features” of the stone as you say. I tried a second piece to see if that helped, and it did help with the sky but made the face too dark for similar reasons. Moving in the right direction though. Thanks for your reply!