Stacked "Wavy" Bowl Fusion 360 add-in

I was interested in making a stacked bowl like these:

But I wasn’t sure exactly what I wanted it to look like, so I started playing around with modelling it in Fusion 360. After a very short time, I realized that manually creating the curves was quite time intensive and it was going to take a lot of time to get to what I wanted…

So, I decided to learn how to write an Fusion 360 add-in to generate the bowls! After a bit of learning the API, a bit of learning python, and a bit of a math refresher (it has been about 25 years since I needed to remember the math for drawing a circle :slight_smile: ).

The result:

With a bunch of options to experiment with what the curves should look like, size of the bowl, etc.

I haven’t yet finalized my design or cut it yet, but if anyone else is interested in playing with it, I’ve posted it to github:

If anyone happens to play with it, I’d love to see the results or hear about any feedback!

31 Likes

Wow. I was pretty good at LISP but have taken on Python several times and never gotten far, Gimp, Inkscape and Blender all use Python and so am wondering how transferable your script might be, or what it would take to do so.

Wow, you are an F360 genius! That is quite an accomplishment. Thanks for sharing!

1 Like

I really love the idea of designs being a recipe in the form of a program that you can tweak to get different variations. Bravo!

1 Like

As a bit of background: I’ve been coding on computers in some way or another since the mid 80s. At this point, I’ve read code in a large range of languages and there aren’t many in common usage that I can’t at least stumble my way through.