Start print at specific point of time in the print

I am not as much new to glowforge but I am new to using the community boards and so this might not be the correct place to post this but…

Is there any feature possibly in the works where once the app calculates the movements and time for a print it would then give you an option to start at a specific time point in it (i.e. 10:23; meaning the point that is ten minute and 23 seconds into the print)? If it calculates all movement and time when you hit print then wouldn’t it know where the laser head would be at a specific time point and be able to just start there?

I certainly might be overlooking something, such as the actual need for it. I just figure that with a feature like that then I could pause the GF in a print, record the timestamp of how much it had left, power off the machine (making sure to not open the lid and move the project) and go off and do other things. Then I can come back, power it on, click print, and then enter in a starting time stamp. It also would have been handy when I had a few times of my GF canceling.

4 Likes

That wish has been requested for a long time and most of us have half engraved scraps where something happened. When cutting out, if it stops and you have the piece firmly in place, you can rerun the cut and it will work decently.

2 Likes

I agree, would be a great addition. Especially when some of the print times are extremely long…

1 Like

I may be wrong, but I don’t think there is any guarantee that it will calculate the same motion path each time it is processed.

3 Likes

I have on occasion broken up long cutting times, so I would not find myself sleeping through them by putting different parts on different layers.

1 Like