Stuff I am learning or Big Box Birch

I am a complete laser newbie. Everything I know on the topic, I have learned here on this forum. I have had my production Glowforge for 3 1/2 days.
My proofgrade materials didn’t come day one, so I snagged a small sheet of birch plywood from my big box and that’s primarily what I’ve been playing and learning on. I’ve used proofgrade acrylic that is a dream. I’m waiting on some adhesive before I show off the project that I’m working on with that. I’ve prototyped a bit on cardboard.
And here, I’ll show you what I’ve done with that Big Box Birch:

First off, I tried three levels of engraving for a photo. I’ll do this with hardwood instead of ply later and see if I get better results, which is my expectation.

Glowforge includes some free files - mostly the things they were demonstrating at maker fair. This photo frame is a nice demo of engraving a pocket, living hinge, 3-d item with easy assembly, and so a great starter project. My BBB ply is thicker than proofgrade, so the tab didn’t fit; but I really love the living hinge and learned a lot playing with it.

I had previously made a file depicting a 1972 Jeep commando profile and wanted to affix it to a frame for a quick easy fathers day trinket. Dad and my brothers have these classic money pits automobiles.
The Jeep engraved pretty well. I wanted to see if a bigger frame would look better than the original size, and I experienced some principles there, too.

Close-up on the Jeep engraving. I’m really pleased with how well they came out for a quick “let’s see what happens” test.

You can see that my BBB is thicker than proofgrade, and so the tab was the wrong size. Strangely enough, my resized frame was a tight fit match for the tab. That was just a serendipitous occurrence.