SVG files bringing in what's off the artboard

Okay, I am new at all of this and can’t seem to find the answer buried in these forums. Every time I save an Illustrator file as an SVG it brings in what is off the artboard. I have tried making a clipping mask and then saving and it still brings everything over, including the clipping mask. I am at a loss here. What can I do to stop it from doing this? I shouldn’t have to cut down all of my artwork to just the artboard area and then save it.

In AI, are you doing File–>Export–>Export As… and selecting .svg filetype? If so, just make sure you are checking the Use Artboards checkbox in the next dialog box. That should do the trick. For what it’s worth, I usually have a working file, and then when I’m ready to cut, I just copy/paste what I want to cut/engrave into a brand new file, and do the export as without the checkbox checked. I just do this so I make sure I’m not getting any unwanted stuff I have laying around in the original file. Also, clipping masks won’t carry through to the svg-if you want to clip something out (I know this is a bit different than what you are currently working on), you need to actually remove the linework. Lots of ways to do this ranging from just deleting separate pieces, to using LivePaint for chopping pieces, etc.

Hope this helps!

1 Like

What @jaltschuld said.

Also, you can select the parts of the design you want to cut/engrave in AI, copy (ctrl/cmd+c) and paste directly into the GF dashboard/library screen (ctrl/cmd+v) skipping the whole SVG business altogether.

2 Likes

Does the GFUI also still not recognize masks, clipping or other wise?

It can see them, it’ll just ignore them. I’ll tell ya, they get no respect. No respect.

…I got lost in a wall of text.