Taking the lines out of a hand written recipe

I’m SURE this question has been asked a thousand times but I’ve searched thru the posted articles and can’t find anything with instructions relating to Inkscape. I am NOT a techie person and have a hard time figuring things out but I’m getting there with Inkscape slowly but surely! Would love to learn how to take the lines out of a handwritten recipe if anyone can point me in the right direction? Thank you, wonderful people!! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

1 Like

A picture might help. Not sure what you mean by “lines”…

Do you mean it was written on ruled paper?

2 Likes

You would likely not do it in Inkscape…it’s going to be a raster image. You can use something like GIMP or Photoshop to remove the background. (And if it’s a ruled page, some hand work is going to be required.)

2 Likes

Yes. It’s written on lined paper. I am not familiar with Gimp or Photoshop to that degree. Sounds like I’ve got more learning to do.

1 Like

If you post it someone might be feeling generous and help you out this time so you can get going into his project while you learn how to do it yourself…

1 Like

You will need to use a brush tool to “paint over” the lines with the background color (which should be white.)

You can very often get rid of most of them by playing with the color balance (contrast and exposure.)

3 Likes

Here’s an example video on the process:

10 Likes

Really?! That is so nice! I will post them in a sec. Thanks for the suggestion!

Well, here are the photos incase anyone would like to help. I so appreciate all the tips and tricks I’m learning here! I suppose it may be a good trade off for some great recipes if anyone’s interested?! :rofl:

Thanks again!!!

depending on which program you end up using see if there is an exchange/swap function.

you pick a color and then pick the one to change it to.

I know I have used that someplace but so long ago I don’t recall the program.

1 Like