The Mountains are Calling, and I Must Engrave

As a follow-up to my comment on my last post, I have indeed, engraved this picture:

Here is the image I went with to send into the GFUI

Ka'a'awa2

And this is the result

20171006_195625

Also, here is a link to some of the timelapses I’ve done: https://photos.app.goo.gl/JLMQGHRGLSFyq7R03

I like to add the layer that shows what the engrave image should look like - I think it helps give an idea of what other’s images should be similar to. Not to say that I’m an expert, and I’m sure I could probably get better results down the road, but hey, I like where I am am now!

The next section of this post are more on my thoughts than the capabilities of what Harrison can do, so if you’re interested in that, please read on, otherwise you can leave this post with or without a like/comment. Thanks for stopping by :yum:

I find it so difficult to not stand and watch as the laser engraves, because it’s so hard to comprehend the dynamics of what’s happening. Sure, I get it; it’s a laser, that does laser stuff…but laser stuff is so fascinating! Anyway, I have taken over a thousand photos with my drone, and this one is personally my favorite. I think part of what I love about it is that I originally didn’t think much of it when I took it. The original image was very dark, and in comparison to some of my other photos (I live in Hawaii, so I get a lot of beach/coast images), this one didn’t grab my attention initially. I tend to go through my collection now and again just to be amazed at where I live, and it was during one of these excursions that I found this image again. With the few more tricks I had learned in Photoshop, I was able to get the details and lighting that I really wanted, and what originally was an image that was overlooked, it has now evolved into being one of my best.