"Thickening" bitmap lines in Inkscape?

I have B&W bitmap images that I can trace and cut, but it has many delicate connectors that are obliterated. (Wow… don’t think I’ve ever used that word online before!)

I’d like to be able to “thicken” those parts. I’ve got plenty of experience with image editing but not so much with “artistic” vector software. My vector experience is with CAD - such as Sketchup, Fusion360, and similar, but going back >30 years.

After playing around with stroke thickness, and carefully learning the kerf adjustment techniques posted here, I’m leaning towards this being impractical for complex patterns with many elements. The design I am trying to produce has several hundred individual shapes, which will also be the case for other designs I hope to use. I can accept that free software doesn’t give you the flexibility of other tools.

I actually have a very simple solution I’ve used many times, but it’s not going to work here. I take the bitmap and copy it to 4 or 8 layers, and offset each by 1 pixel in each direction (for 8, the four corners are moved 1x1) - the difference b/w using 4 or 8 depends on the design, the desired effect, the outcome, application of softening/blurring filters, etc. It works great for “solid” designs with fine elements, but the reason it won’t work here is that my design has many small “holes” inside many of the “solid” areas. If I apply this technique, many of those details are lost. They are an important part of the design.

Do any of you oh-so-knowledgable forgers have any thoughts or suggestions?

Here’s a section I extracted for testing, on the left is 2x required scale, the right is 1x - if I could “double” the thickness of those intricate connectors, I’d be in good shape!

If it’s a design you’re going to be reusing, which it sounds like it is, maybe it’s worth using the path tool and individually moving nodes to thicken the parts you need thicker. Time consuming, but also a permanent fix!