TinkerCAD

Anyone had some experience with this program. Remember, I’m new to most of this!

I’ve been using tinkercad for 3D printed models for a while! Its super easy to learn! I’m sure there are a few people around who can give you pointers (including myself) if you have any questions!

2 Likes

I’ve used it on and off, and it’s definitely easy to learn as 3D modeling goes. It’s not going to get you super-complicated stuff (I tried to do something with a bunch of different projections and holes at different angles, and my brain broke) but what it does, it does well and easily. And the price is right.

(I have no drawing ability, so openscad is my tool of choice for 3D, but that’s just me.)

TinkerCad is a great intro to 3D modeling, but I’d suggest checking out 123D Design, also by Autocad. TinkerCad only runs in the browser, but 123D Design is a Win/Mac desktop app and honestly is no harder to learn/use. Autocad offers a free license for non-commercial use for the entire 123D suite, too.

In fact, TinkerCad is really 123D Design “Lite,” using an almost-identical UI. You’ll also find 123D Make really handy for slicing 3D models for cutting on the GF.

I arrived at TinkerCAD after frustrations with Sketchup making “grouped” shapes solid for 3D printing, which Tinkercad handles very well. Simplicity wise, i’d compare it to playing with blocks or legos but have difficulty rounding corners etc… However, since it groups shapes very well to create more complex shapes or shapes to subtract from other shapes. This means you can literaly copy/paste groups of shapes into subgroupings and copy and paste those sub groupings into repeated patterns for making more complex structures that look difficult but zooming in, they are just boxes, pyramids, spheres etc…Below is an incompleted example of the temple mount circa 70 AD i’m trying to sketch up components for: