Trouble with cutting leather

I am a professional leather worker and purchased my Plus for cutting out detailed parts. For the life of me I can not get a clean cut. I am working with 6 oz veg tanned leather.

Any help on settings would be welcome.

Thank you
Ron

2 Likes

What settings are you using?

I believe the thick Proofgrade leather is right around 6oz. The PG settings for that are 168 speed/100 power.

I’m going to bump this over to #beyond-the-manual since Support won’t be able to offer advice on settings for non-Proofgrade material.

3 Likes

Is it finished in any way? Dyed, etc…

I’ve always wondered if the caution against chrome-tanned leather is the chemicals left over from the tanning solution or that it is nearly always sold dyed and it’s the dyes fighting the laser. I have a hard time believing the process changes the leather itself from something that cuts beautifully to a total mess.

I have been running in every possible combination. Tried about 300 test cuts yesterday. Even with Proofgrade leather it is not cutting clean thru and I have to use a razor knife to finish the cut. The leather is not dyed and does not have any finishes.

I have adjusted power from 30-100. I have tried multiple passes and the full range of speeds. I have also tried adjusting the focus. Nothing has made a clean cut.

1 Like

I really don’t see what the issue is. So long as you are properly venting I see no reason not to use it. I have seen a lot of nice work done on chrome tan. I don’t use it much myself since it will harm metal finishes and I make holsters so it is a no go for me.

Are you pinning it down perfectly flat? We’re getting great results using these:

You can try two passes if the first one isn’t cutting all the way through.

1 Like

I am using rare earth magnets as hold downs.

Have you had any luck cutting anything (other materials, something from the sample pack)?