Trying to make a stitch keychain out of wood

Hello everyone. I’m new to this lasering thing but excited is an understatement. I have made some things already. Now I am trying to laser a wooden keychain of stitch the little alien from lilo and stitch. My first try didn’t go as planned. Not that I thought it would anyhow. I am using inkscape version 1.1. It keeps crashing on me but thats a different problem. So anyway back to my little alien friend stitch. When I load him up in the glowforge app it has alot of work to do on it. That’s understandable. I had used medium basswood plywood for my material. When this thing had finished he got burned, and his eyes got cut out. I would imagine that changing the settings for the engraving will take care of the burnt look but how do i go about not having his eyes cut out? I only use inkscape because it is somewhat easy to use. Eventually it will get easier in time. I can’t justify the monthly subscription at this time. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Have a great day!! :grinning:

4 Likes

I think the first thing I would do is invert the original image…Looks like your blacks and whites are swapped. As dar as the eyes being cut out, that’s just changing from cut to engrave (or score) in the list at the left…

2 Likes

So using inkscape i would imagine it would be listed as reverse under paths? Not sure though.

1 Like

It’ll depend on how your art was made, but reverse doesn’t do what you’re looking for. It may be as simple as selecting the dark areas and removing the fill, and selecting the white areas and adding a fill - but there’s shading in his belly so that may be a raster engrave.