Tutorials that we newbies should see before glowforging

Hi,

I’m a new arrival in the forum. I come from Britanny in france and I am a lucky future glowforger.

I m also a complete beginner in laser cutting, CNC, and other 3D technology. I must prepare myself to use 3D software to start learning to create things to cut.

So this topic’s idea is to take an inventory of useful softwares and tutorials to help newbies like me to be prepared.

I start with my firsts researches:

There must be many other ones. If you want to share.

Marc

33 Likes

Welcome @mark.simon1!
Thanks for the contribution!

Welcome @marc.simon1!
This is a nice set of tutorials! Here is a good source of info as well.

2 Likes

@marc.simon1 WELCOME!

With the Link repository I’ve been a little AFK from the forums as of late and haven’t been updating. But if you want to add your links: Add Links to forum here

I check it every once and awhile, basically i’ve been dragging my feet around here till I get my GF. The forums depress me due to lack of being able to laser the awesome ideas around here.

3 Likes

Welcome to the party @marc.simon1!! All those links look awesome.

To add on to the 123D Catch software, I just recently learned about Autodek’s Momento, another software that generates 3D digital models from photographs. I’ve heard really good things about it, it’s free, and it will output really high definition meshes!

4 Likes

www.onshape.com is a fully cloud-based 3D parametric CAD program that runs on browsers (Mac, Linux, or PC), smartphones, and tablets. It’s free with all features, but limited on private storage (free public storage), and has numerous 3rd-party add-ons, a few of which look pretty handy for Glowforging.

The Onshape App Store is here:

http://appstore.onshape.com/

and one of the add-ons that looks useful is Kiri:Moto, which can automatically slice a 3D Onshape model into cross sections that can be exported as DXF or SVG files.

4 Likes