Two layer/color silicone

I’ve got a project in mind that requires a membrane keypad, rather than something like acrylic, because it needs to be somewhat water and dust resistant. Oh, and it has to allow for backlighting of the keys.

Sample:

I’ve read about the following technique:

• Cast the keypad in transparent silicone rubber mold
  • use a dark grey or black oil-based opaque paint to cover the casting
  • laser off the opaque paint in order to reveal the keycaps in the transparent silicone rubber underneath
  • coat the keycaps in a matte or gloss clear polyurethane to lock in the opaque paint and prevent it from flaking off the silicone

Has anyone had experience in painting and locking in silicone that can suggest some manufacturers products? Or experience in the technique itself? Complete newb for casting silicone here…

18 Likes

I’m betting @henryhbk has more experience in casting silicone than the rest of us combined.

6 Likes

i think that’s probably the best option. what about placing a thin key cap on the underside of the keypad, with the number cut out?

1 Like

I wouldn’t use paint, but you can use tints from Smooth On to color their Solaris or Encapso K silicones.

This way you avoid any product incompatibilities. Liquid silicone rubbers can be tricky to use when combining too many different materials into a project.

You could also get the membrane graphic printed onto plastic material (sign shops can do this with thermal printers like the Gerber Edge) then embed the membrane into a thin casting of clear silicone.

Because of the way the silicone rubber flexes, there’s no real space to do that on the underside of the keycap. Looking at a side profile, you would have a stem that goes down the center which is tipped with a conductive paint (indicated in blue).