UFO puzzle box - 49 steps to open

I’m a puzzle box designer (Benno de Grote) and having my own laser cutter makes it a lot easier to make new puzzles. In the first week I had my glowforge I designed a UFO puzzle box which takes 49 steps to solve! I’m very exited to finally be able to make wood projects with a laser cutter at home.

I made a youtube video about the box: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RzPe1VBF1Ao&t=1s

I’m working an a building plan!

61 Likes

Wow, that is really cool!

Welcome to the community! There is a lot of great information here!

2 Likes

I was able to significantly reduce the noise like many others by adding an external fan. This is the one that I ended up getting. You can search the forum more opinions and alternates.

3 Likes

Thank you!

I’m looking forward to sharing more puzzle designs. I’m currently working on a puzzle box based on the newest XBOX design. The few post about puzzle boxes I saw here where very inspiring!

1 Like

Wow, I wasn’t aware that it would be possible to reduce the noise! Thank you very much. I will do some research and get one.

1 Like

Very cool design

2 Likes

Neat design!! Not sure I have the patience to go through 49 steps to open a box! :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

2 Likes

This looks like a lot of fun!

1 Like

Impressive

2 Likes

Oh my, @bennobaatsen! I’ve been staring at your puzzles on YouTube and despairing of reaching that level of excellence. Your work is amazing!

2 Likes

Thank you very much! Have you tried making puzzle boxes yourself?

The first box I made was around 15 years ago. I used a building plan from Bruce Viney for it. After making a few boxes designed by others, I stated designing them myself. These first boxes didn’t really work, and my dad helped a lot because I was really young.

If you just keep trying you’ll be able to make some amazing puzzles yourself!

3 Likes

cool puzzle! I remember my first puzzle box. It was so much fun! This one looks a lot cooler!

2 Likes