Vectorize All the Things

I’ve committed to more design in 2020, and three barriers (eh, excuses) for not doing more in the past were:

1. I don’t know my tools (e.g., Adobe Illustrator) well enough.
  2. I hate graphics manipulation with a mouse, and my old Wacom graphics tablet doesn’t work any more.
  3. I don’t have the time.

Well, I solved the third by getting laid off, so for now, time’s not an issue. I was holding out for a really high-end Wacom, but the solution to excuse #3 is a problem when it comes to solving excuse #2. I did some research, spent some Amazon credit and bought a much-cheaper XP-PEN alternative that I’m pretty happy about.

For excuse #1, I’ve spent a good chunk of the last week getting comfortable with the tablet and digging into Illustrator, as I’d only scratched the surface with vectors. I’m a photographer and video editor, so I’ve been an Adobe bundle buyer for a while. I only really cracked AI open when I got into 3D printing and laser work, and even then only to make small tweaks to things and eventually simple shapes.

The latest set of tasks I gave myself just amounts to fancy tracing, but it’s made me exercise a lot of AI’s features.

Of course, it did lead me to something I can make other stuff with, but the result is more confidence to execute my own ideas.

43 Likes

Sorry to hear you got laid off. But your design is fantastic!

3 Likes

Thank you. I’m confident I’ll find something soon. As to the design, all credit goes to the creators of the classic Rolleiflex.

1 Like

That’s a great trace job. ( Not easy to pull off without manual intervention.)

3 Likes

Pretty painstaking segment-by-segment stuff with the pen, but good training.

6 Likes

there’s no better training than a project.

6 Likes

I picked up my first tablet (Wacom) specifically for work like that, makes a heck of a difference for the project I am working on.

4 Likes