Wax coated charcuterie serving boards

Has anyone tried engraving on wax coated serving boards like these from Etu Home? Their website says: “Each of our serveware pieces are hand finished with a plant-based food-safe hard wax, composed of a carnauba and beeswax blend, built to endure the everyday wear and tear of life.”

I’m brand new to GF, but that sounds like it might just burn or melt if I tried to engrave. However it looks like maybe their logo is engraved on them?

Would love some input or advice!

image|690x460

Welcome to the community! Haven’t seen anything quite like that. You can always see what a search of the forum brings up. This isn’t made clear…are those made of wood? What is the white finish? Their logo could have been engraved or perhaps even just stamped into the material. Whichever way it was done, it’s a quite small area compared to what you might likely want to engrave on them. In any case, you need to find out more about what they’re made of.

3 Likes

I agree with @Xabbess in that there in potential concern with the white. I make my own cutting boards, and I finish them with the same type of wax blend. I’ve engraved them prior and post to finishing. the biggest issue I run into is getting any sort masking to stick to the surface when they’re waxed. The wax finish basically vaporizes, and I’ve never had any issue with that part. I’m not sure if this helps at all, I hope it did.

6 Likes

Sorry, I probably should have clarified. They’re solid wood underneath. Just with a food-safe wax finish to add color and a protective coating.

I imagine they might also use a CNC to engrave the logo, not a laser, but unsure.

1 Like