Webcam recommendations

I have a mac mini, and on meeting days I need to be on camera, does anyone have any webcam recommendations? I have been using the laptop for the camera purpose, but it isn’t great for all day.

On a PC with a five year old Micro$oft Life Cam Cinema I’ve been happy, but From what I’m aware of I would look at the latest Logitech offering. Looks good but a bit pricey. I have zero experience with Mac.

The Logitech C920 has been my go-to. 3 of which are plugged into my workshop computer now: one pointed down at the desk, one on the Glowforge, and one for the talent/video conferencing.

Of course, when I got them they were like $50. Thanks to the pandemic, well… https://camelcamelcamel.com/product/B006JH8T3S

4 Likes

Zoinks! Thanks for the recommendation. Maybe one of the other logitech’s will do the job. :slight_smile: hard to justify spending $50 more on some thing

Thanks @PrintToLaser

1 Like

Yeah. All the work from home created a run on webcams. You can also get a Wyze Cam which is supposed to be for remote security monitoring. But Wyze published an alternative firmware that turns it into a webcam. It’s 1080p so HD, just not crazy super quality like the Logitech. For under $30 and a couple of cables it works great. I converted one for grins and it took all of 10 minutes.

Here’s the firmware info:

The camera is $20 from Wyze (Amazon has it for almost twice that because they include a wildly overpriced SD card you don’t need).

2 Likes

you can also get a blink mini right now for $35. i just got one, but haven’t set it up yet.

1 Like

AUKEY has made some pretty good generic products and have a $55 webcam model available.

Right now (Sept 10, 2020 morning) they have a 10% discount available.

I have ordered one to test myself.

1 Like

I sure hope this trend doesn’t continue.

I’ve worked from home for over 20 years, thousands of web conferences, never used a web cam.