What File Extensions/Types Will Work Best With Glowforge?

I export Flat Pattern (2 Dimensional) .dxf files from Solidworks weekly for use with industrial laser cutting machines. I work with a local source for production cutting of acrylic on Epilog and Trotec lasers, but they act like they’ve never seen or heard of a .dxf file. They only want to work with Correll Draw and ALWAYS get the scaling wrong.
Since the file processing will all happen online and in the cloud, what file types or extensions will Glowforge support? As a Manufacturing Engineer I work like an engineer and use traditional engineering software for all my design work. I am much less familiar with the “Artistic” software platforms like Photoshop, Illustrator, Draw, etc.
Also, is there a “Slicing” feature made available as part of the Glowforge OS, or will we need to slice our 3D models on our own using other software packages.

The .dxf and .svg files are the ones most cited as supported formats. The glowforge software does not support slicing, but there is one program that gets cited a lot for doing it (AutoDesk123???). It’s been a popular topic.

AutoDesk 123D Make http://www.123dapp.com/make is free to use. Please note that the desktop app is full-featured, while the mobile versions are limited to a few premade models and a fun doodling moode.

2 Likes

The epilog lasers that I have used effectively use Corel Draw just as a printer driver, and it will open DWG and DXF files and probably others and laser them.You can set the units.
I expect my main output to be in one of these formats, and hope that GF will accommodate them,

After months of my GF sitting since September I am trying to learn how to effectively use it and make my own files. I took from the above that exporting from illustrator in .dxf will work?

No, ilistrator is fine but you need to save as svg.

ok great, thank just doing it now