What I've Learned to get the best results on my aura after 4 months

I was a total newbie to laser cutting when I was lucky enough to get an Aura for Christmas this year. (As in, I had to google what a laser cutter even DOES, that’s how unprepared I was). Twice when I ran into big issues, this forum came to my rescue in minutes. But beyond that, the hours upon hours I spent reading posts and doing searches here have been invaluable. This is such a helpful, generous group of people that I wanted to share a few of the most helpful tricks I have learned, and perhaps save another newbie a few of their own precious hours.

So I found that like most things in life, it’s the PREP that assists the most. There’s definitely some trial and error when you’re cutting new material but I was getting frustrated when I would find the PERFECT ratio of Speed, Power, and Number of Passes for a type of wood, only to find that the next time I used the same wood, from the same batch, it might not cut through in all areas.

So the biggest lesson I finally learned is that THE MOST IMPORTANT THING to get the best results on your laser cutter is that the material is totally, completely, consistently FLAT.