When to use 1/8” and 1/4” Baltic Birch?

I am brand new to Glowforge (just ordered today), and have been researching materials to buy. If I want to cut things like words, ornaments, boxes, wall art - is it better to get 1/8” or 1/4”? Any tips for when to use one card the other would be much appreciated. Thanks!

I stick with 1/8" unless it’s something that needs a lot more structural support, such as a printer stand, etc. The 1/4" is more trouble to cut (I use 3 passes to avoid over-charring it), so I only resort to it when absolutely necessary.

11 Likes

That’s mostly an aesthetic decision - do you like the look of thin things or thick things?

1/8” is less expensive if cost is a concern.

3 Likes

That’s good to know. Cutting Speed will definitely be a factor I want to consider. Thank you

1 Like

Cost isn’t the primary factor I am worried about. I’m more concerned about how fragile the finished project will be.

1 Like

I know you gave some examples but there’s no one answer, it would depend on precisely what you’re making.

Words? For what? Hanging on a wall? Cake-toppers?
Boxes? How big? Used for what?
Wall art - indoor? Outdoor?

I will say that in 4 years I’ve cut very, very little 1/4". It’s a royal pain to deal with.

7 Likes

I have only had my GF for a little over a year and I love the 1/8inch. I always have trouble cutting through the 1/4 inch with one pass, then have char issues, etc., so, my go to is 1/8 inch. And, many of the patterns you ‘purchase’ are 1/8 inch…(many have patterns for both though)

2 Likes

They’re both pretty sturdy for the things you’ve described.

3 Likes