Where I plan on setting up my Glowforge

Hey Everyone,
I don’t really participate on the forums much, but I do check them several times a day and I see many of the same people so basically hi to everyone.

I have read about many different places that people are planning to put their GF’s when they arrive and many cool ideas have been put forth. Well I am a teacher so this summer during my off time I have undertaken a big project with the blessing of my awesome wife.

We have a “garage” (I use that term loosely because it is too small to fit a car in) that was built in 1935. As it isn’t very usable I get to turn it into my Nerd Castle. So far this summer I have cleaned it out, added flooring, got the electricians in, insulated and as soon as I am done here I will be headed back out to start the drywall. After this it will be texture, paint, then add cabinets.

This last year we had the school I worked in the last 8 years torn down (it was built in 1935) so I bought my classroom door and cabinets, and then I am also using chunks of flooring from the gym. It will be like a tiny representation of the school I taught at. I’m pretty excited to get it done and then get my glowforge installed. I plan on making a name plate for Room 110 (My old room number and it also sounds faintly like a Sci Fy book name)

50 Likes

This is just wonderful! I love that you are reproducing aspects of your school–awesome idea. And, welcome to the forums @drewperman–we’d like to see more from you!

4 Likes

Oh! Oh! @jules, look! He’s got a hedgehog!

8 Likes

That is VERY cool.

Welcome to the forums

3 Likes

That looks like a sweet little nook! (I wish I had that much space to maneuver and store materials!)

Where’s the hedgehog?
j/k

Welcome to the forum! :relaxed:

6 Likes

So fun! I love that you’re bringing memories of your old school into your workspace. (And hooray for summer break–one of the best parts of being a teacher! :sunglasses:)

3 Likes