Where to buy materials

Hi all! I am fairly new to glowforge and have been reading through the posts. I was wondering what your recommendations are for buying materials besides glowforge. Any suggestions and recommendations are greatly appreciated!!

First off, welcome.

Can you say a bit about what you want to do?

Craft stores like Michael’s are great, lots of wooden plaques and boxes engrave well.
Lots of online places to buy acrylic. Also, if you are at all urban, there might be somewhere local to buy acrylic.

One of my mainstays is 1/8" Baltic Birch. I source mine from WoodPeckers and order through Amazon, but there are others. Adams Foam board is excellent for a lot of light projects and is a buck a sheet (20x30) in places like Dollar Tree.

Don’t count out the stuff directly from glowforge either; it might be a little bit pricier, but it runs very consistent, so many times, it is worth the upcharge.

2 Likes

I’m interested in doing wood&acrylic crafts mainly. So I’m glad you told me that the Michaels woods work.

And I will most likely order more from glowforge just was wondering about other places I could get materials.

Any recommendations for cutting boards&wooden spoons

There are so many suppliers besides your local craft and home improvement stores. A few are estreet Plastics, Johnsons Plastics Plus, Ocooch Hardwoods, Ikea, Inventables, etc. After having your Glowforge for a bit, you will look at everything and wonder about laser engraving it. I suggest you look through the Gallery on the Glowforge home page and the Made on a Glowforge here in the forum to get an idea of what people use in different projects.

3 Likes