Why does my svg file change size after I upload it?

Has anyone had this problem? I am VERY new to Glowforge and creating files for projects. I use AI and made sure my “project” fit exactly on the board size I was using in my Glowforge, however, when I uploaded my SVG it was a lot smaller than it should have been? I’m sure it’s something simple I am missing probably when saving it!?!?

If anyone can help me I would REALLY APPRECIATE it! :slight_smile:

I can’t say specifically what your issue is, but there’s a lot of info about this out there.

https://community.glowforge.com/search?q=illustrator%20scaling%20problem

There are lots of ways scaling can go wrong, but it depends on exactly how you’re uploading, saving and or/copy/pasting into the UI.

1 Like

TY so much!

Also, if you make your art board 12" x 20" they programmed in an override that will always scale things exactly as created. Even once you’ve fixed your scaling settings it’s worth getting into that habit :slight_smile:

Plus, then you can easily layout what will actually cut on your board (the ~19x10.5 or so) within the art board’s space.

3 Likes

In AI I have my artboard set to the same size wood I am using in the glowforge so I could fit everything within it on the glowforge. My artboard and the wood are actually 19.5 x 9. So I’m still not sure. I love this community though! It’s awesome to have input buy every one! I’m hoping one day I will be the one giving advice… LOL!

2 Likes

You need to do as @deirdrebeth suggested and make your document 12" x 20". Making it the size of your material won’t work.

2 Likes

I use AI and i almost never use SVG. 98% of the time i just copy/paste from AI to the dashboard. the only exceptions are when the file is ridiculously complicated (like thousands of nodes in a file i got from somewhere else) or if i’m having trouble with an embedded image. and then i save as PDF. i’ve never had an issue importing a PDF.

7 Likes