Why I'm now using Fusion 360 instead of SketchUp

I just posted a new video on my YouTube channel. It is about why I’m moving over from SketchUp (which I’ve been using for the past 10 years) to Fusion 360. It also a bit of tutorial on how to use Parameters in Fusion 360.

It’s at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efunq7mE_nQ

22 Likes

cool, there are members here that are on the Fusion 360 team, great program, subscribed to your channel. thanks.

3 Likes

well done thank you for shareing

1 Like

It’s amazing software. And we owe @garin_gardiner thanks for helping make it easier to use for the Glowforge community.

5 Likes

Awesome video and love the way you layed out the buildings!! Can’t wait to see them cut😀

2 Likes

Thanks for posting the tutorial. I’m sure lots of people (like me) are totally new to this sort of program.

2 Likes

That was very helpful, thanks so much! I’m new to 3D design but I did fiddle with Fusion360 to make a storage unit, but I might go back and redesign it parametrically after this. It makes sense to do pretty much all design this way.

3 Likes

Yes, a big thank you goes out to @garin_gardiner who gave me my first fusion 360 tutorial!

I still have a lot to learn, but he pointed me in the right direction.

6 Likes

Been following your channel for a long time. Great job on the transition to Fusion. Thank you for doing the video.

2 Likes

I am so thankful that most everyone on this forum is smarter or more talented than myself in at least one important way. Such a resource!

I have not uninstalled sketchup yet but I can’t remember the last time I used it.
The parametrics are great but so is the ability to sketch on any facet of a body is pretty powerful as well.

3 Likes

Glad now that I never learned SketchUp! :grin:

1 Like