Would it be safe to use an indoor propane heater in my garage with the glowforge running?

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to the whole high powered laser industry. We’ve been using our Glowforge Pro since May and we live in the North. Now that winter is coming, I am concerned about operating my Glowforge, which resides in my garage. It will likely get too cold to operate in the garage without an extra heating source. I was wondering if it would be safe to use an indoor propane heating unit in my garage while the Glowforge is running.

Thank you, in advance, for the insights.

You don’t say how far north but you have two issues how warm it needs to work and how cold you need to assure it never gets,

There are many threads here about both. but a heatrer safe to sleep in the room with should be ok,

2 Likes

Large enough space, adequate ventilation, blah, blah, blah… That’s what they are built for. There isn’t any reason that I can think to worry. Nothing flammable that the laser wouldn’t ignite by itself. Propane is a fairly clean fuel so I wouldn’t expect it will mess with anything internal to the unit.

2 Likes

Temp minimums from the users manual:

Operating Environment
To prolong the life of your Glowforge unit and to reduce the risk of fire or mechanical failure, do not put the Glowforge unit where it could experience:

• Temperatures below 40 degrees Fahrenheit (5 Celsius) or over 120 degrees Fahrenheit (48 Celsius)
  • Extreme humidity conditions (below 10% or more than 75%)
  • If venting outdoors, ensure that changing conditions do not cause extreme temperatures or humidity to enter the Glowforge unit through the exhaust hose. Disconnect the hose from the outside air when the Glowforge is not in use.

Print when the ambient temperature is within the following ranges. Printing outside these ranges may cause your print to pause periodically or fail to complete.

• Basic and Plus: Between 60 degrees Fahrenheit (16 Celsius) and 75 degrees Fahrenheit (24