1/2" Aluminum cut

Good day everyone;

I hope someone can help me please.

I’m pretty new to the Glowforge community and have no idea how the manual settings work.

I’ve taken up a project where I have to cut 1/2" Aluminum blocks into a shape. Has anyone ever done something similar?

What would be the manual settings for this?

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance
Mariska

I don’t believe you will be able to cut any metal of any thickness with a 40W CO2 laser*.
*Well, there are some very thin foils specifically for low-wattage CO2 lasers can be cut. But otherwise…

5 Likes

I’m pretty new to GF, but as Tom said, I don’t think you can cut 1/4 Al with the GF. However, if you have a router, you could use the GF to cut a template of your shape, then double stick tape the template to your Al and use a router with a pattern bit to get the final shape. You will have to watch out for inside corners that are tighter than the radius of the bearing on the bit.

2 Likes

One could also make a mold with their Glowforge and then melt the Al and pour it into that mold.
I’ve been wanting to do that with pewter but I haven’t had time.

2 Likes

I think that a band saw or water-jet cutter might be more interesting. A plasma cutter might do the job but there are some on here that have them to let you know. With Cermark solution you might be able to mark them but even that would not get to a millimeter much less a half inch.

Sandcasting would be tricky to do as it has its own rabbit hole but you could make the models on the Glowforge in maple and then sand cast the design.

1 Like

You need a CNC mill - a good one. A laser cutter won’t do it for you.

2 Likes

Definitely. And better than a CNC. Most CNC routers don’t have liquid cooling which is something you’d want for half inch aluminum. And the plasma would be faster too because mills tend to suffer chip load and weld on a CNC cutting aluminum.