3D Design Software - what's your current favourite?

Lots of options around these days and lots of developments over the last 2-3 years.

So what 3D design software are people using, what makes it a favourite for you?

2 Likes

Fusion 360 is my go-to, mainly because it’s the only one I’m familiar with. I think Blender would be worth my time.

10 Likes

SketchUp Pro because it’s what we use for work and I’m fastest using it :disguised_face:, now available nearly fully functionally on iPad,

6 Likes

I’m using Shapr3D on the iPad (although they do have Mac and PC versions) because it’s the easiest for me to use. That’s for CAD-type modeling. Then add more organic refinements in Nomad Sculpt, also on iOS. Nomad is also easy to learn. Are you sensing a theme here?

7 Likes

I like easy to learn :slight_smile:

3 Likes

What kinds of things do you want to make in 3D? That might be a big factor in picking the software.

6 Likes

Fusion here, but I use it so rarely I am far from an expert. I use their slicer more than anything, to cut up 3d models into what can be cut on the GF.

5 Likes

Fusion360, although I’m still grumpy about the way they “optimized” the free license, so I’ve been looking around for other options.

…but I’ll probably be looking for a long time, since >90% of my GF usage is simple Inkscape. Makes it harder to motivate on the edge cases.

6 Likes

I use SolidWorks, but it’s pretty expensive: 12K last time I checked plus 3K per year.

3 Likes

It is nothing specific, more that the most things I make are 3D and I suspect parametric modelling in 3D would give me the following benefits:

1. Ability to change material thickness easily
  2. Ability to make small and large versions easily
  3. Ability to make sure pieces fit properly with less trial and error
  4. Ability to more easily make objects with other than 90 degree angles
  5. Ability to make 3D instructions for buyers of kits.