3D Engraving,help please

Hello everyone, I am new to Glowforge. I have been trying to 3D engrave on leather, but I cant figure out why it wont give me the option 3D engrave when i upload my drawing.

Welcome to the forum.
The file determines whether or not you have the 3 D options. I will see if I can find some discussion threads to assist you.

This thread may help: 3D engaving

3 Likes

If i change the material, I can get it to the #D option to come up. But it doesn’t do it right

Right, only some materials will 3D engrave. Can you share more information - what material do you want to use and what is the image you want to engrave?

I know next to nothing about leather, but I don’t imagine it having enough depth for a 3D engraving to make a lot of sense.

3 Likes

Indeed…now that you mention it…makes no sense at all. Unless, of course they’re engraving on inch-thick leather. :grinning:

1 Like

I’ve heard of a thick skin, but…

2 Likes

I figure it out! I put the letters in front of a background, created an outline, and then with Pathfinder, minus the front.

You can engrave on leather. I typically use 8-10oz leather.

There was no argument that you CAN engrave on leather…the discussion led to your wish to use the 3D deep engrave on a material that probably wouldn’t be thick enough to need that setting. Glad you got it all figured out!