Adobe Illustrator problem - linked images errors

I’ve been using Illustrator for all my files, and suddenly I’m having problems. I am not an expert with it by any means, but I’ve been using it for years now for everything I make to cut.

I make items to sell, and have the base items saved. When I get custom orders, I edit the file and save a copy, with images embedded. I’ve done this thousands of times.

About two weeks ago, after saving a file and trying to open it in Glowforge, I get a linked images error. Ok, I think maybe it defaulted to linked and I missed that. I go back, resave the file (which I had left open) under a different name, am very careful about choosing embedded, but same problem. I’m not sure what’s causing it. Once it starts doing it, I usually can’t get any file to save without this issue. The original file will still open in Glowforge without errors, though. It happens almost every day now.

When this error has cropped up, I see that Illustrator has created a folder in the location where I saved the edited version, with a name like A78F8F48.png, which is empty, and a file A78F8F48.png.tmp$$. I don’t get any error messages during saving. I don’t see the folder or temp file when I save the file and it all works properly.

If I close the edited file in Illustrator, then try to open it in Illustrator again, I get the error:
Could not find the linked file “”. Choose replace to select another file or Ignore to leave the link unchanged.
I’ve tried replacing, with no success.
If I ignore, I see:
Some files are missing or modified in the Links panel. Would you like to update them now?
If I try yes, it gives me the “could not find…” again.